Assignment 5 – My Father

Having submitted my work for assignment five to my tutor, I thought I would re-visit the images I had taken of my father as part of my initial idea about photographing old people living on their own.

What I realised is that my original approach was too generic and what was meaningful to me, and what I should have limted myself to, was documenting my father and his life; and the challenges, some of which are self-imposed, others not, that he experiences as a widower in his mid-eighties.

I am going to continue photographing him and will try to document other aspects of his life in addition to his home life. My feeling is that this would be a more meaningful series to submit for assessment, however, I think what is more important to me is feeling that the images I create are worthwhile rather than working to an external deadline.

Leave a comment