Assignment 5 -Re-worked submission – My Father

Taking on board comments from my tutor I have decided to present my submission for this assignment as a short video.

My original idea for presenting the images was influenced by the work of Philip Toledano and my tutor felt that the images were overshadowed by text and were not large enough. I think that the video has enabled me to address these points. This is my first attempt at producing a video and although it is very basic, I feel it is more engaging than a presentation or PDF of individual images.

Background

The series is only the start of what will hopefully be a longer-term project documenting my father’s life without my mother. After photographing my first submission, I realised that I wanted to create a piece of work that was much more personal, more intimate. Having produced work for previous modules that focussed on my mother, I wanted to explore how my father was living on his own with the central part of his life for nearly six years, visiting my mother three or four times a week, no longer a part of his routine. My aim was to document his life at home and also away from home, although these opportunities have been restricted due to his cautiousness about coronavirus.

Leave a comment